This is the "Home" page of the "Shakespeare Criticism" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Shakespeare Criticism  

Use this LibGuide to find criticism of Shakespearean plays.
Last Updated: Sep 18, 2015 URL: http://sjshouston.libguides.com/Shakespeare Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Literature Resource Center - A current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Contains information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines.

From the homepage, type in the name of the Shakespearean play, and in "Search for words in" select "Name of Work". In "By content type" deselect "All" and then select "Liberature Criticism."  In "Search in" select Literature Resource Center.  Several hundred works of criticism will appear.  Select the title that interests you and click; this is your full-text article.

To obtain an MLA 7th edition citation, click Citation Tools (located in the Tools Box on the right side of the screen), and copy and paste the information.

JSTOR - A scholarly database of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs.

Select Advanced Search.  Type the name of the play in first search box.  In the second search box, type Shakespeare.  Farther down Narrow By selecting Articles, Books, Pamphlets, and Miscellaneous.  DO NOT SELECT "Reviews".  Click the Search button.  Go to upper right corner and change 25 to 100 per page.  From the Search Results, select an article, click on the title; bibliographic information will be at the top, an abstract (if there is one) will follow, and then the full article.

To get Citation information, click View Citation from the Tools Box.  JSTOR will not put your citation in MLA 7th edition format.  However, the item citation contains all that you will need to format a citation.

General OneFile - Choose this link to get a Power Search which searches several databases at once.

Type the name of the Shakespearean play into the Search box.  The results will default to Magazines.  Because this is a very large search, the results are grouped by format; these formats are listed on the left side of the screen and must be searched separately.  Choosing Books would be an excellent starting point.  For fewer books, scroll down the left sidebar and click on "Critical Essay."  From your results, select an article.  Bibliographic information will be at the top followed by a summary, if there is one, and then the full text. 

To obtain an MLA 7th edition citation, click Citation Tools, and copy and paste the information.

Gale Virtual Reference Library - A database of thousands of reference ebooks in all subjects which are keyword searchable.

Type the name of the Shakespearean play in the Search box.  Look at the results and select articles which support your premise.

To obtain an MLA 7th edition citation, click Citation Tools (on the light gray bar above the title of the work), and copy and paste the information.

      
     

    Library Books

    HAMLET

    Cover Art
    Hamlet's Mother and Other Women - Carolyn G. Heilbrun; Nancy K. Miller (Editor)
    Call Number: 820.9 HEI
    ISBN: 0231071760
    Publication Date: 1990-05-25

    The Imperial Theme: Further Interpretations of Shakespeare's Tragedies Including the Roman Plays - Kenneth Muir
    Call Number: 822.33 DK
    Publication Date: 1965

    Shakespeare's Problem Plays - E. M. W. Tillyard
    Call Number: 822.33 DT
    Publication Date: 1957

    The Women of Shakespeare - Frank Harris
    Call Number: 822.33 EH
    Publication Date: 1912

    Twentieth Century Interpretations of Hamlet - David M. Bevington (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 S8B
    ISBN: 0133723755
    Publication Date: 1968-04-01

    Hamlet - Harold Bloom (Introduction by)
    Call Number: 822.33 S8B
    ISBN: 0791009742
    Publication Date: 1990-01-01

    A History of Hamlet Criticism, 1601-1821 - Paul Salisbury conklin
    Call Number: 822.33 S8C
    Publication Date: 1968

    Hamlet and Oedipus - Ernest Jones
    Call Number: 822.33 S8J
    Publication Date: 1954

    Cover Art
    Hamlet - Harold Bloom (Editor); Brett Foster (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 S8H
    ISBN: 9780791095928
    Publication Date: 2008-04-01

    Readings on Hamlet - Don Nardo
    Call Number: 822.33 S8R
    Publication Date: 1999

    The Ghosts of Hamlet - Martin Scofield
    Call Number: 822.33 S8S
    ISBN: 0521227356
    Publication Date: 1980-11-27

     

    Library Books

    HENRY IV

    Cover Art
    Shakespeare's Histories: A Comprehensive Research and Study Guide - Harold Bloom
    Call Number: 822.33 DW
    ISBN: 0791052419
    Publication Date: 1999-09-01

    Shakespeare: The Histories; a Collection of Critical Essays - Eugene M. Waith (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 DW
    ISBN: 0138077010
    Publication Date: 1965-01-01

    Twentieth Century Interpretations of 'Henry IV. Part One'; a Collection of Critical Essays - Raymond Joel Dorius
    Call Number: 822.33 W2D
    ISBN: 013387043X
    Publication Date: 1970-01-01

    Cover Art
    Henry IV - Harold Bloom (Editor); Neil Heims (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 W2H
    ISBN: 9780791096291
    Publication Date: 2008-04-01

     

    Library Books

    KING LEAR

    Cover Art
    King Lear, by William Shakespeare - Jay L. Halio
    Call Number: 822.33 T4H
    ISBN: 9781587658396
    Publication Date: 2011-09-01

    Cover Art
    King Lear - Gareth Hinds (Artist); William Shakespeare (Based on a play by)
    Call Number: 822.33 T3H
    ISBN: 1893131068
    Publication Date: 2007-10-23

    On King Lear - Lawrence Danson (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 T4O
    ISBN: 0691064776
    Publication Date: 1982-01-21

    Cover Art
    King Lear - Harold Bloom (Editor); Neil Heims (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 T4S
    ISBN: 9780791095744
    Publication Date: 2007-12-01

     

    Library Books

    OTHELLO

    Cover Art
    Othello - Harold Bloom (Editor); Neil Heims (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 T8S
    ISBN: 9780791095751
    Publication Date: 2007-12-01

    The Women of Shakespeare - Frank Harris
    Call Number: 822.33 EH
    Publication Date: 1912

    Cover Art
    Othello - William Shakespeare - Harold Bloom
    Call Number: 822.33 T8W
    ISBN: 9781604138184
    Publication Date: 2010-04-01

     

    Library Books

    THE TEMPEST

    Shakespeare, the Comedies: a Collection of Critical Essays - Kenneth Muir (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 DM
    ISBN: 0138076936
    Publication Date: 1985-10-01

    Cover Art
    The Tempest - Harold Bloom (Editor); Neil Heims (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 Q6S
    ISBN: 9780791095775
    Publication Date: 2007-12-01

    The Women of Shakespeare - Frank Harris
    Call Number: 822.33 EH
    Publication Date: 1912

     

    Library Books

    TWELFTH NIGHT

    Shakespeare, the Comedies: a Collection of Critical Essays - Kenneth Muir (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 DM
    ISBN: 0138076936
    Publication Date: 1985-10-01

    Cover Art
    Twelfth Night - Harold Bloom; Pamela Loos (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 Q8T
    ISBN: 9780791096758
    Publication Date: 2008-03-01

     

    Library Books

    LITERARY CRITICISM

    Shakespeare the Playwright: A Companion To the Complete Tragedies, Histories, Comedies, and Romances - Victor L. Cahn
    Call Number: 822.33 DC
    ISBN: 0313274932
    Publication Date: 1991-03-30

    Four Centuries of Shakespeare Criticism - Frank Kermode
    Call Number: 822.33 DF
    Publication Date: 1956

    Shakespeare the Playwright - Victor L. Cahn
    Call Number: 822.33 DM
    ISBN: 0313274932
    Publication Date: 1991-03-30

    Cover Art
    The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare - Michael Dobson (Editor); Stanley Wells (Editor)
    Call Number: 822.33 DO
    ISBN: 0198117353
    Publication Date: 2001-11-29

    A Complete Concordance or Verbal Index to words, Phrases, and Passages in the dramatic works of Shakespeare, with a supplementary concordance to the Poems - John Bartlett
    Call Number: 822.33 GB
    Publication Date: 1966

    Cover Art
    A Shakespeare Glossary - Robert D. Eagleson (Revised by); C. T. Onions
    Call Number: 822.33 GO
    ISBN: 0198125216
    Publication Date: 1986-05-15

    The Annotated Shakespeare - A. L. Rowse
    Call Number: 822.33 JS
    ISBN: 0517535092
    Publication Date: 1988-12-12

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip