This is the "Home" page of the "Famous Chemists" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Famous Chemists  

Created for Chemistry classes. Use this guide to complete your research for the Famous Chemists project
Last Updated: Mar 28, 2014 URL: http://sjshouston.libguides.com/chemistsbiography Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books from Taub Library

This list includes a brief synopsis of each book.  In addition, the Taub Library call number is given so that you can locate the book on the shelf.  Please note that further research will be necessary to determine which book or books will be useful to you.   Use the book Index and Table of Contents to discover whether or not your scientist is discussed in the book.

Cover Art
A Century of Nature: Twenty-one Discoveries That Changed Science and the World - edited by Laura Garwin & Tim Lincoln
Call Number: 500 CEN
ISBN: 0226284131
Original reports of classic scientific discoveries assembled from NATURE magazine, with explanatory essays.

Cover Art
Landmarks in Science: Hippocrates to Carson - Robert B. Downs
Call Number: 500 DOW
ISBN: 0872872955
An examination of some of the landmarks in science from ancient to modern times with biographic and historical information.

Cover Art
The Faber Book of Science - edited by John Carey
Call Number: 500 FAB
ISBN: 0571163521
Primary sources. A cross section of the best science writing tracing the development of modern science from Leonardo da Vinci's early autopsies to current theories on chaos and beyond.

Cover Art
Galileo's Commandment: 2,500 Years of Great Science Writing - edited by Edmund Blair Bolles
Call Number: 500 GAL
ISBN: 0716730359
Primary sources. Includes writings from Herodotus, 444 B.C. to the present.

Cover Art
The Search for Solutions - Horace Freeland Judson
Call Number: 500 JUD
ISBN: 0030437717
Drawing on four hundred years of scientific discovery and on revealing firsthand interviews with contemporary scientists, Judson lays out the foundations of our scientific knowledge and maps our universe - from the single cell to the solar system.

Cover Art
Knocking on Heaven's Door - Lisa Randall
Call Number: 500 RAN
ISBN: 9780061723728
Publication Date: 2011-09-20
An exhilarating and accessible overview of the latest developments in physics that have the potential to radically revise our understanding of the world: its makeup, its evolution, and the fundamental forces that drive its operation.

Cover Art
A Short History of Scientific Ideas to 1900 - Charles Singer
Call Number: 500 SIN
Sixty short and elementary essays on aspects of the history and philosophy of science.

Cover Art
The New Everyday Science Explained - Curt Suplee
Call Number: 500 SUP
ISBN: 0792273575
The reader is guided to new understanding of the chemical, physical, and biological miracles that shape our world.

Cover Art
A Passion for Science - Lewis Wolpert and Alison Richards
Call Number: 500 WOL
ISBN: 0198542127
Renowned scientists offer vivid personal portraits of their lives in science.

Cover Art
McGraw-Hill encyclopedia of Science and Technology
Call Number: 503 MCG
ISBN: 0079136656
Comprehensive information in all areas of science and engineering. Understandable and useful to any person of modest technical training.

Cover Art
Masterworks of Science: Digest of 13 Great Classics - edited by John Warren Knedler, Jr.
Call Number: 504 KNE
Primary source documents of scientists.

Cover Art
Album of Science: The Nineteenth Century - L. Pearce Williams
Call Number: 509 ALB
ISBN: 0684150476
Scholarly series seeks to convey the science of each period through graphic representation.

Cover Art
Album of Science: The Physical Sciences in the Twentieth Century - Owen Gingerich
Call Number: 509 ALB
ISBN: 0684154978
Scholarly series seeks to convey the science of each period through its graphic representations.

Cover Art
Album of Science: Antiquity and the Middle Ages - John E. Murdoch
Call Number: 509 ALB
ISBN: 068415496X
Scholarly series seeks to convey the science of each period through graphic representation.

Cover Art
Album of Science: From Leonardo to Lavoisier, 1450-1800 - I. Bernard Cohen
Call Number: 509 ALB
ISBN: 0684153777
Scholarly series seeks to convey the science of each period through graphic representations.

Cover Art
Asimov's Chronology of Science and Discovery - Isaac Asimov
Call Number: 509 ASI
ISBN: 0060156120
How science has shaped the world and how the world has affected science from 4,000,000 B.C. to the present.

Cover Art
Galileo's Finger: The Ten Greatest Ideas of Science - Peter Atkins
Call Number: 509 ATK
ISBN: 0198606648
An examination of the epochal ideas of science, including evolution, the role of DNA in heredity, entropy, the atomic structure of matter, symmetry, wave-particle duality, the expansion of the universe and the curvature of spacetime.

Cover Art
The Tradition of Science: Landmarks of Western Science in the Collections of the Library of Congress - Leonard C. Bruno
Call Number: 509 BRU
ISBN: 0844405280
First edition illustrations taken from the texts of the most revered names. Chapter 5 Chemistry: Fertile Alchemy traces the history of chemistry from its beginnings as alchemy to the 20th century.

Cover Art
Dictionary of the History of Science - edited by W. F. Bynum, E. J. Browne, and Roy Porter
Call Number: 509 DIC
ISBN: 0691082871
More than 700 entries, organized alphabetically by concept, explaining the origins, meaning, and significance of the chief theories and ideas that have contributed to the development of science.

Cover Art
The Mechanization of the World Picture: Pythagoras to Newton - E. J. Dijksterhuis
Call Number: 509 DIJ
ISBN: 0691023964
A detailed account of the origins and development of the physical sciences, including chemistry, from the Pythagoreans through the Middle Ages

Cover Art
The Classics of Science: A Study of Twelve Enduring Scientific Works - Derek Gjertsen
Call Number: 509 GJE
ISBN: 0936508094
Primary source for Dalton's A New System of Chemical Philosophy (1808-1827).

Cover Art
The Timetables of Science: A Chronology of the Most Important People and Events in the History of Science - Alexander Hellemans and Bryan Bunch
Call Number: 509 HAL
ISBN: 0671621300
Timeline for chemistry. Find out what was happening in the world as scientific discoveries were made.

Cover Art
Great Scientific Experiments: 20 Experiments that Changed our View of the World - Rom Harre
Call Number: 509 HAR
ISBN: 0714820962
Twenty brilliant investigations that unlocked nature's secrets, including diagrams and photographs of the experimental methods and apparatus, a description of the experiment, and a brief biography of each scientist.

Cover Art
The Discoveries: Great Breakthroughs in 20th Century Science - Alan Lightman
Call Number: 509 LIG
ISBN: 0375421688
Stories of some of the most seminal discoveries of the 20th century. Includes the scientists' original papers and provides insight into the intellectual and emotional landscape of each discovery.

Cover Art
Man Masters Nature: Twenty-five Centuries of Science - edited by Roy Porter
Call Number: 509 MAN
ISBN: 080761193X
Seventeen essays tracing the thread of scientific understanding from ancient Greeks to the twentieth century scientists, revealing how science continually renewed itself, extended its intellectual credibility, and med the needs of industry, technology, and society.

Cover Art
The Autobiography of Science - edited by Forest Ray Moulton and Justus J. Schifferes
Call Number: 509 MOU
Brief introduction followed by the actual paper of the scientist.

Cover Art
Hypatia's Heritage: A History of Women in Science from Antiquity through the Nineteenth Century - Margaret Alic
Call Number: 509.2 ALI
ISBN: 0807076318
A comprehensive study of outstanding women whose names have been left out of history books, whose work has been suppressed or stolen, and whose achievements in science, medicine, and mathematics have been denied.

Cover Art
The Biographical Dictionary of Women in Science: Pioneering Lives from Ancient Times to the Mid-20th Century - editors, Marilyn Ogilvie and Joy Harvey
Call Number: 509.2 BIO
ISBN: 0415920388
A two volume set containing biographical information on 2,500 women of all time periods from around the world working in every facet of scientific endeavor.

Cover Art
The Biographical Dictionary of Scientists - consultant editor, Roy Porter
Call Number: 509.2 BIO
ISBN: 0195210832
Over 1,200 comprehensive and accessible introductions to the visionary men and women of astronomy, chemistry, physics, biology, mathematics, engineering and technology.

Cover Art
Archimedes to Hawking - Clifford Pickover
Call Number: 509.22 PIC
ISBN: 9780195336115
Publication Date: 2008-04-16
Explores the eponymous physical laws - from Archimedes' Law of Buoyancy and Kepler's Laws of Planetary Motion to Heisenberg's Uncertainty principle and Hubble's Law of Cosmic Expansion - whose ramifications have profoundly altered our everyday lives and our understanding of the universe.

Cover Art
Faraday's Chemical History of a Candle: Twenty-two Experiments and Six Classic Lectures - Michael Faraday
Call Number: 540 FAR
ISBN: 1556520352
Faraday's classic lecture series on the chemistry of a burning candle, including illustrations and experiments.

Cover Art
Nobel Prize Winners in Chemistry 1901-1950 - Eduard Farber
Call Number: 540 FAR
Contains biographical sketch, description of the prize-winning work, and consequences in theory and practice.

Cover Art
Joseph Priestley: Revolutions of the Eighteenth Century - F. W. Gibbs
Call Number: 540.0924 GIB
Biography of Joseph Priestley.

Cover Art
MacMillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry - editor, Joseph J. Lagowski
Call Number: 540.3 MAC
ISBN: 0028972252
Articles, alphabetically arranged, about chemistry, as well as biographical sketches of chemists.

Cover Art
The Historical Background of Chemistry - Henry M. Leicester
Call Number: 540.9 LEI
ISBN: 0486610535
The development of chemistry through the thoughts and ideas of chemists.

Cover Art
A Short History of Chemistry - J. R. Partington
Call Number: 540.9 PAR
ISBN: 0486659771
A concise survey of the history of chemistry.

Cover Art
Madame Curie: A Biography - Eve Curie
Call Number: 540.92 CUR
ISBN: 9780306810381
Daughter's biography of her famous mother.

Cover Art
Grand Obession: Madame Curie and Her World - Rosalynd Pflaum
Call Number: 540.92 PFL
ISBN: 0385261357
Biography of Marie Curie and her family, winners of 3 Nobel Prizes in two generations.

Cover Art
The Corpuscular Theory of Matter - J. J. Thomson
Call Number: 541.24 THO
Original papers of J. J. Thomson

Cover Art
Marie Curie: A Life - Susan Quinn
Call Number: 940.92 QUI
ISBN: 0671675427
Using family documents, Quinn presents us with a far more complicated picture of the woman we thought we knew.

 

REFERENCE SECTION

READER'S GUIDE TO PERIODICAL LITERATURE

Magazine index to articles from 1890-2001

Find the dates in which the scientist published or was recognized.

Using known dates select the appropriate Reader's Guide.  Find the scientist's name and note the articles listed.  As an additional search, look up the topic for which the scientist is known.

 

Please note that the Taub Library has copies of the following magazines.  Once you determine that you need one of the magazines that falls within the time periods listed, see Mrs. Patrick or Mrs. Sharp to locate it for you.

Scientific American - April 1950 - present

Life - 1936 - 2000

Time - January 1937-December 1975; January 1976-December 1985 (microfiche); January 1986-present (ProQuest full text)

Newsweek - July 1969-September 1969; January 1974-March 1975; April 1975-December 1985 (microfiche); January 1986-June 1998; July 1998-present (ProQuest full text)

U.S. New & World Report - January 1959-December 1975; January 1976-December 1995 (microfiche); January 2010-present (ProQuest full text)

 

DATABASES

The following databases are accessible from the Taub Library webpage by logging in on the SJS Community page:

ACCESS SCIENCE - explore articles plus video, news, and more on 7,000+ scientifc topics.

     Select Biographies from the Home Page.  Type in scientist's name, and click on Search.  Select the correct article.  Biography article will be in the main portion of the page with related articles to the right of the biography article.

GVRL - a database of specialized reference sources.  These reference materials were once accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online 24/7.  Because each library creates its own ebook collection, the content will vary if you use this database at different libraries (your school, your public library, an academic institution).

     Do a keyword search on the person's name.  Choose from several ebooks.

JSTOR - used by millions for research, teaching, and learning.  With more than a thousand academic journals and over 1 million images, letters, and other primary sources, JSTOR is one of the world's most trusted sources for academic content.

     From the Home Page, select Advanced Search:

     A.  Type in the name of the scientist AND change the pull-down screen to "Author".  These will be primary sources.

     B.  Do a separate, additional search on the scientist's name using the "Full Text" option.

PROQUEST - a periodical database which includes the Historical New York Times from 1851.

     On the Advanced Search screen, go to the middle of the page.  At Source Type select Historical Newspapers.  In the first search box, type          the scientist's name.

GALE WORLD HISTORY IN CONTEXT - a broad collection of scholarly analysis and award-winning full-text periodicals, reference works and primary documents.

     Select "Both World History & US History" (just below the search box) if appropriate.  Type the scientist's name in the "Search" box.

 

 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip