This is the "Home" page of the "Pride and Prejudice" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Pride and Prejudice  

Use this LibGuide to find secondary sources on Pride and Prejudice
Last Updated: Feb 5, 2016 URL: http://sjshouston.libguides.com/prideandprejudice Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Databases

Literature Resource Center - A current, comprehensive, and reliable online literature resource. Contains information on authors and their works in all genres and disciplines.

You may choose the search you want to do.

   *For an overview of the literature, choose the basic search and type your book title in quootations marks into the search box.

   *For a more focused, specific search select the Advianced Search. In the first box, type in the title of your book in quotation marks.  In the box underneath the first box, type a limiting term such as class.

To obtain an MLA 7th edition citation, click Citation Tools (on the right side of the screen), and copy and paste the information.

Do a second search only after you have exhausted all other resources!

The second search involves 6 sets of reference books that include literary criticism from 1400 to present day). The link "Gale Literary Index" is located above the search box.  Choose Title Search, type in Pride and Prejudice, and select "Match words exactly as entered."  Choose the appropriate Pride and Prejudice.  For this project, you will be looking for citations in Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism.   Look at the mass of numbers after Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism; the bold numbers are the volume number and the other numbers are page numbers.  Find the page numbers that include many continuous pages.  Armed with this information, proceed to the Reference Section, select the appropriate volume, and go to the appropriate pages.

JSTOR - A scholarly database of more than 2,000 academic journals, dating back to the first volume ever published, along with thousands of monographs.

Select Advanced Search.  Type "Pride and Prejudice" in first search box.  Farther down Narrow By selecting Articles, Books, Pamphlets, and Miscellaneous.  DO NOT SELECT "Reviews".  Click on Search.  Go to Display Box, change 25 per page to 100 per page, and click on Go.  Either begin your search or, for fewer results, go to Modify Search and add an additional search term in the second box.  From the Search Results, select an article, click on the title; bibliographic information will be at the top, an abstract (if there is one) will follow, and then the full article.

To get Citation information, click View Citation from the Tools Box.  JSTOR will not put your citation in MLA 7th edition format.  However, the item citation contains all that you will need to format a citation.

Gale Student Resources in Context - Choose this link to get a Power Search which searches several databases at once.

Type "Pride and Prejudice" AND your search term into the Search box.  The results will default to Magazines. Focus on BOOKS - the formats are listed on the right side of the screen. From your results, select an article.  Bibliographic information will be at the top followed by a summary, if there is one, and then the full text. 

To obtain an MLA 7th edition citation, click Citation Tools, and copy and paste the information.

ProQuest - A database of periodicals.

In the Advanced Search screen type "Pride and Prejudice" in the first search box.  Under Search Options locate the Document Type box.  Check the Select All box; then unselect "Literature Review" and "Review".  At items per page, select 100.  Click Search.  If there are too many results, choose Scholarly Journals on the right side of the screen.  Caution:  The results screen Does Not contain a summary or abstract.  To obtain a summary or abstract, select the article and it will appear at the beginning of the entry.

To obtain a Citation, click on Cite from the blue box on the right side of the screen.  At the pull-down screen, select MLA 7th edition and click Change.

      
     

    Books in Taub Library

    Communities of Women: An Idea in fiction - Nina Auerbach
    Call Number: 823 AUE
    ISBN: 0674151690
    Publication Date: 1986-10-15
    Chapter 2 - Waiting Together: Two Families;
    Pride and Prejudice

    Jane Austen's Novels: Social Change and Literary Form - Julia P. Brown
    Call Number: 823 AUSB
    ISBN: 0674471725
    Publication Date: 1979-02-16

    Critics on Jane Austen - Judith O'Neill
    Call Number: 823 AUSC
    ISBN: 870241176
    Publication Date: 1970

    A Portrait of Jane Austen - David Cecil
    Call Number: 823 AUSC
    ISBN: 0809078112
    Publication Date: 1979-04-01

    The Improvement of the Estate: A Study of Jane Austen's Novels - Alistair M. Duckworth
    Call Number: 823 AUSD
    ISBN: 0801812690
    Publication Date: 1994-10-01

    Jane Austen and Education - D. D. Devlin
    Call Number: 823 AUSD
    ISBN: 0064916758
    Publication Date: 1975-01-01

    Cover Art
    Elizabeth Bennet - Harold Bloom (Editor, Introduction by, Translator)
    Call Number: 823 AUSE
    ISBN: 9780791076729
    Publication Date: 2003-09-01

    Jane Austen: Her Life - Park Honan
    Call Number: 823 AUSH
    ISBN: 0312014511
    Publication Date: 1988-01-01

    A Guide to Jane Austen - Michael Hardwick
    Call Number: 823 AUSH
    ISBN: 0684176521
    Publication Date: 1982-09-01

    Cover Art
    Jane and Her Gentlemen: Jane Austen and the Men in Her LIfe and Novels - Audrey Hawkridge
    Call Number: 823 AUSH
    ISBN: 9780720611045
    Publication Date: 2001-03-12

    A Reading of Jane Austen - Barbara Hardy
    Call Number: 823 AUSH
    ISBN: 0814733735
    Publication Date: 1976

    Cover Art
    Issues of Class in Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice - Claudia Johnson
    Call Number: 823 AUSI
    ISBN: 9780737742589
    Publication Date: 2008-09-26

    Jane Austen: New Perspectives - Janet Todd (Editor)
    Call Number: 823 AUSJ
    ISBN: 084190863X
    Publication Date: 1983-01-01
    Women & Literature
    New Series, Volume 3, 1983

    Cover Art
    Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Bloom's Guides) - Harold Bloom
    Call Number: 823 AUSJ
    ISBN: 9780791081693
    Publication Date: 2004-08-01

    Cover Art
    Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice (Bloom's Modern Critical Interpretations) - Harold Bloom (Editor)
    Call Number: 823 AUSJ
    ISBN: 9780791094372
    Publication Date: 2007-04-01

    Cover Art
    Pride and Prejudice: A Study in Artistic Economy (Also called Pride and Prejudice: A Student's Companion to the Novel) - Kenneth L. Moler
    Call Number: 823 AUSM
    ISBN: 0805780327
    Publication Date: 1988-12-01

    Jane Austen: Irony as Defense and Discovery - Marvin Mudrick
    Call Number: 823 AUSM
    Publication Date: 1952

    Jane Austen in a Social Context - David Monaghan (Editor)
    Call Number: 823 AUSM
    ISBN: 0389200077
    Publication Date: 1981-02-01

    In the Meantime: Character and Perception in Jane Austen's Fiction - Susan Morgan
    Call Number: 823 AUSM
    ISBN: 0226537633
    Publication Date: 1980-02-15

    Cover Art
    A Jane Austen Encyclopedia - Paul Poplawski
    Call Number: 823 AUSP
    ISBN: 9780313300172
    Publication Date: 1998-06-30

    Readings on "Pride and Prejudice" - Clarice Swisher (Editor)
    Call Number: 823 AUSR
    ISBN: 9781565108608
    Publication Date: 1998-09-01

    Jane Austen and the Drama of Women - LeRoy W. Smith
    Call Number: 823 AUSS
    ISBN: 0312439911
    Publication Date: 1983-10-01

    Cover Art
    Understanding Pride and Prejudice - Debra Teachman
    Call Number: 823 AUST
    ISBN: 9780313301261
    Publication Date: 1997-11-30

    Twentieth Century Interpretations of 'Pride and Prejudice' - E. Rubinstein
    Call Number: 823 AUST
    ISBN: 0136999182
    Publication Date: 1969-01-01

    Cover Art
    Student Companion to Jane Austen - Debra Teachman
    Call Number: 823 AUST
    ISBN: 9780313307478
    Publication Date: 2000-06-30

    Cover Art
    Jane Austen: A Life - Claire Tomalin
    Call Number: 823 AUST
    ISBN: 9780679446286
    Publication Date: 1997-11-04

    Jane Austen: A Collection of Critical Essays - Ian Watt
    Call Number: 823 AUSW
    Publication Date: 1963

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip