- *Fordham University - Internet History Sourcebooks Project
This is the place to start. Huge collections of well-organized primary texts, divided into: Ancient History, East Asian History, Global History, History of Science, Indian History, Jewish History, Medieval History, and Women's History
- Epistolae: Medieval Women's Letters
"Epistolæ is a collection of letters to and from women in the Middle Ages, from the 4th to the 13th century. The letters, written in Latin, are linked to the names of the women involved, with English translations and, where available, biographical sketches of the women and some description of the subject matter or the historic context of the letter."
- *EyeWitness to History
Your ringside seat to history - from the Ancient World to the present. History through the eyes of those who lived it
- *World History Matters
- Florilegium Urbanum
Presents a selection of primary source texts illustrative of various aspects of medieval urban life. Texts are grouped under four headings: community, economy, government and lifecycle.
- *World Digital Library
Collection of manuscripts, books and visual resources. Select a date range of interest, then use limiters to focus your search.
- Best History Sites
Collection of websites to use for background information and links.
- English Medieval Legal Documents A.D. 600-A.D 1535
A "collaborative database on the published sources of English medieval legal documents." Links to online sources are provided when available.
- De Re Militari
Primary (and secondary) sources on medieval and renaissance military history. Includes the Crusades, Hundred Years' War, Anglo-Norman Warfare, and the Vikings and Norse.
- World History Time Line
Bringing together daily life, history, art, music, literature
philosophy, religion, mythology, science, technology,
world changing discoveries, important battles, great people and key events across centuries, countries and continents
- Labyrinth: Resources for Medieval Studies*
Provides subject-oriented links to other websites offering primary sources of the medieval period and provides connections to databases, services, texts, and images around the world.
- Medieval Women Scriptorium
Collection of texts and images of medieval women.
- Monsoon Winds to the Land of Gold
Primary sources related to the trading networks and geographic factors that influenced the maritime spice trade from Southeast Asia to the Roman Empire and Han China during the period 100 BCE to 100 CE.
- Silk Road Narratives: A Collection of Historical Texts
Part of our Silk Road Seattle Project is to make available interesting historical sources which may be used in teaching and learning about the Silk Road.
- Project Gutenberg
Project Gutenberg offers over 50,000 free ebooks
- Avalon Project - Yale University
This is a digital library of documents in the areas of law, history, and diplomacy. Coverage is from ancient times to the 21st Century. Links within the digitized text link to related documents.
- Euro Docs
Online Sources for European History
Selected Transcriptions, Facsimiles and Translations
- History Channel
Search History by topic.
- Hyper History
- Perseus Digital Libraries
Primary and secondary sources, both texts and images, pertaining mostly to ancient Greece and Rome.
- Asia for educators
Primary Sources from Asia.
- Middle Tennessee State -
Teaching with Primary Sources
- *National History Day
National History Day--this site recommended many more additional websites for primary sources.